Ira Glass

Posted: February 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

The main new thing that I learned from Ira Glass is that stories have natural momentum. I thought it was really cool how he was talking about that every story, even the most boring, has a certain element suspense to it. I think he was right about that. No matter how mundane a series of events are it seems like something dramatic is going to happen. I think he hit the nail on the head and it’s cool to hear it articulated as such.

Also, one of the things he reminded me of was that story telling should not be executed like they teach you in high school. Story telling should be a logical sequence of events instead of writing a topic sentence. There is a right and a wrong way to tell a story.

I think these things will help make me be a more efficient writer. I will be more readily able to recall the rules of writing and they will help me be the best writer that i can be.

Leave a Reply

