Michael Nye Exhibit

Posted: February 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

First and foremost, I thought just the idea for an exhibit like this was ingenious. I was intrigued because this exhibit incorporated a different form of art and a different form of story telling. It’s not every day you get to hear stories like that straight from the source. Had it not have been for the subject matter presented, I would’ve really enjoyed myself.

  • I felt very compelled by the accounts that were given and, in a way, drawn to the storyteller themselves. When I hear stories like those that involve hardships and sometimes even life and death experiences it’s hard for me to not be intrigued.
  •  I was particularly interested in a story told by Sabas of how he had to shoot another man’s cow just so he wouldn’t starve to death. That kind of story is so profound and it really makes me realize how much hunger affects so many people.
  • The main thing that I found out through the stories was that hunger is a very real problem for a significant amount of the population. Those accounts just made it really hit home how devastating hunger can be.
  • This exhibit taught me how to be a better story teller through my presentation of the story. Now I will try to be more concise and on point with my language. People get tired of listening if you ramble on and on.
  • I have learned how to be write specifically for the web through the evaluation of my previous blog entries. I have learned to be more economical with my words and condense my speech to receive the greatest amount of impact from my blog.
Leave a Reply

