Uses and Gratifications Theory

Posted: February 20, 2012 in Uncategorized

I’m pretty sure Elihu Katz, Jay G. Blumler and Michael Gurevitch were completely on the right track when they came up with the Uses and Gratifications Theory. To find evidence of this theory at work today you have to look no further than me. I’m almost certain this rings true for everyone else, as well.

When I want to be entertained, I go to Pandora and jam out to my Skillet channel or I click over to Netflix and watch the latest movie where anything blows up and people die in a very cinematically satisfying but not so realistic way. (Firefox says cinematically is not a word but let’s just pretend it is.) I am a guy after all. When I’m in the mood for a little social interaction, I go to Facebook and start a chat with a random person that I probably haven’t talked to since high school.

This is just human nature. In a weird way, we are very needy and temperamental as human beings and we need to be coddled and catered to even when we are 23 years old. We want what we want and we want it NOW! Unfortunately, that’s the way it is. It’s okay though even if we are spoiled brats because the world does revolve around us after all.

For a cool article on the Uses and Gratifications Theory, please check out http://matei.org/ithink/2010/07/29/what-can-uses-and-gratifications-theory-tell-us-about-social-media/.

 

Leave a Reply

