Acceptable Invasion of Privacy?

Posted: April 2, 2012 in Uncategorized

It has become a semi-common occurrence in this age of social media and prominent online personas of  rather reserved private individuals for potential employers to employ Facebook “creeping,” as my brother would so articulately put it, as a sort of background check. However, the line of both moral and ethical issues become swiftly blurred in the pursuit in what is a truely acceptable form of invasion of privacy.

However, the recent trend has not seen potential employers only stop at searching what has been publicly plastered to the world’s wall, but also the incorporation of scanning the private e-mail accounts of current employees, as well.

Wait…what?

Yes, that’s correct. Now, not only your public information is open to investigation by “the man,” but even the most deeply personal e-mails in your private account are subject to search at the sole and (most of the time) ironically indiscretionary  discretion of the corporation that employs you. Admittedly, now the Twitter trolling and such tomfoolery seems increasingly more mundane.

Excuse me, Mr. Corporate America, sir. I don’t feel like you have owned my soul enough today. I just don’t feel like a mindless drone quite yet. It’s not enough you grudgingly pay me minimum wage to do the grueling tasks you can think of without as much as a thumbs up in my direction. Would you like to come home with me and rummage through my sock drawer, as well? Only then can I feel like I have been adequately robbed of my identity.

I mean, there has to be a line drawn somewhere. This seems like way too far. I’m promise you I’m not speaking ill of you, sir, in my e-mails or trying to build a bomb or plotting world domination with Pinky and the Brain so stay out of my e-mails. There’s no reason for that. If I have something to say, you can find it right here.

Comments
  1. marylizcuba says:

    I say that if they suddenly have a right to all our personal information, it seems only fair that we have the right to do the same to them. Are they speaking bad about their employees in an email to their best friend? They are just the same as us. There is no reason what-so-ever that employers should have a right to gain any access to our personal files or Facebook. It’s called privacy for a reason.

  2. […] is a good offense, so arming yourself with knowledge is one of the best weapons you can have. 9. “Acceptable Invasion of Privacy?” by arronsblog      4/8/12 Comment: I say that if they suddenly have a right to all our […]

  3. When you say “private email accounts” are you referring to an employees personal email account that is not related to work OR are you saying employers search company email accounts created for that employee?
    1) IF you are referring to company email account then I say they are well within their right to search your email address. That email address, even though it may have your name on it, acts as a representative of their company. Naturally they want to make sure you are using it properly.
    2) IF they are searching your private email accounts this HAS TO BE ILLEGAL. What I talk about with my family and close friends are of no concern to them. It is a PRIVATE account. It should be illegal, I would press charges and do what I had to do to raise hell.

Leave a Reply

